The Head Fake

Randy Pausch, in The Last Lecture, describes the practice of the “head fake” as something he used, in teaching and in life, to encourage focus on the enjoyable, engaging, interesting qualities of a task or situation, rather than dwelling on difficulty or discomfort.

What better mission to take on, on an adventure such as this?

I recently read, in Marisha Pessl’s Special Topics in Calamity Physics, about a man who claimed to have achieved success and happiness through the simple method of pretending to be the person he wanted to be until he became that person.

I want to be a person who’ll gladly and gratefully plunge into every experience and find a way to make each full of joy and meaning. Small potatoes, right? (Don’t tell the Irish I said that – I’ll be headed up there soon and I have a vague suspicion it might be a racist slur. Jess, can you help me out?). I’m well on my way – and you’ve all helped – and I aim to make this blog another piece of the puzzle. I hope you’ll enjoy reading about my British adventures in the weeks and months to come. Please comment freely and often – I value each and every one of you for your brains as well as your beauty! 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. HI Sam,

    Glad to hear about your adventures. I will be able to follow as you discover what is going on around you. Thanks for the peak into your world.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Aunt Kathy on February 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Well done Sam!
    You make your adventure sound very exciting. It was lovely to raed and see the pics!
    I will add you to skype.
    Aunt Kathy Uncle David

    Reply

  3. Posted by Boffo on February 17, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    What a wonderful travelogue and such insights into the sights and areas you are settling into….I enjoyed reading your take on life and travel and fun you have already experienced….To see Ian Mckellen and compnay in the flesh….pretty awesome….so enjoy kiddo while you can….love , Aunt Rita aka Boffo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

